That’s what I said! I picked my words for a reason.

Okay, Genesis is an interesting book in the Bible. It really is.
A lot of good things take place in the Bible, especially Genesis.
However, I was involved in a debate with some people recently that angered me. Well, after the debate ended, I had calmed down, and I was reflecting on some of the things that had taken place in my life, I had a realization.

My opponent in the debate, was WRONG!

I know what you’re thinking; “Garen, how do you know your opponent was wrong?”
Well, here is my answer. I will give you a link and then explain what I noticed.
First, some back story.
People that are convinced that the earth was created in 6 days time (144 hours) are retards! Honestly, thats how I feel. Also, the 6,000 year old earth theory is retarded also in my view.
Allow me to explain. We were debating the age of the earth, and I was talking to people of both viewpoints. Now, after the fact, I had remembered something that I had learned in the temple with my wife in regards to the creation story, and for some reason, at that point in my life, the thought stuck out. Well, here I was 6 months later, and I was able to use what I had learned.

Now, the link: http://scriptures.lds.org/en/gen/1
I want you to start by paying attention to verses 3 and 4. Dark and Light are referred to as “Day and Night”. Okay, so that’s how we got what we usually consider to be “days”. But, there was something interesting in the end of verse 5.
“And the evening and the morning were the first day.”
At first, I didn’t think that this was significant. But, it turns out it is. Here is how I know.
In verses 5, 8, 13, 19, 23, and 31, this same verbiage is used.
Now, we could look at the theory of “1,000 years is a human day” and maybe try and make that fit, but I disagree.
In each of these verses, the period of time where this specific step of creation took place is referred to be the “Morning and Evening” and then given a number for the day. I don’t think that these days of creation are the same as the typical days that were created in verses 3 and 4.
So, how long were each of the days of creation? I don’t know. Does it matter? Not really. My salvation doesn’t depend on it. So, with this little tidbit of personal insight, it cleared up a few things for me.
-Is the earth 6.8 billion years old? It could be. We don’t know how long each day of creation was. Heck, each day could have been a different length in order to facilitate the creative needs of that step.
-Did dinosaurs exist? Possibly. We have the bones, so there is nothing to suggest that they didn’t. God may have had a purpose for them. But for the days of creation to do their thing, there may well have been time for them to roam the earth, get their bodies, and move on.
-Is the earth really only 6-9,000 years old? I’m guessing no, but then again, God IS capable of anything.

Anyways, with this idea that the days of creation aren’t set in to stone as is suggested by many in the evangelical reich, it eases my mind a little, and actually makes the validity of the scriptures and the temple a little firmer in my mind.

Hope this was worth your time to read.

Leave a comment maybe? WORDS! Type Them! DO IT NOW!

