Every Vote Matters

Do you vote?
WHY THE HELL NOT?

There are so many people that I know that like to use the excuse of “my vote doesn’t make a difference”.
This statement right here is what my entire gripe is about this time around.
A few years back when I lived in the Ketchikan Alaska (Beautiful area BTW) there was a vote going on for the Washington State governors seat. The race was between Dino Rossi and Christine Gregoire.
Now, at the time I knew that I needed to vote but I still didn’t have an eye for politics or and understanding of what my actions would mean for the population at large.
Well, my absentee ballot showed up and I was excited. I was going to make my marks on the paper and my opinion was going to “matter”. Or so I kept telling myself.
Well, there were many propositions on the ballot and I had an understanding of what I wanted to pass. What taxes I considered fair, and what levies I wanted to pass and so forth. Well, I got to the governors ticket on the ballot and I wasn’t really sure what I was looking at.
I know that being a conservative I should be picking a republican over a democrat, but I didn’t really know what each member stood for. On this ballot in particular, it just had names and did not specify an R or a D.
So, like so many other retards in the state of Washington, I simply picked a name at random.
THIS WAS THE ONLY TIME I HAVE EVER MADE THAT MISTAKE!
A few weeks later I was reading up on who the candidates were and how they were counting votes.
Well, there was a disagreement between Mr. Rossi Mrs. Gregoire on who had actually won the race.
THREE recounts later, it was determined that Christine Gregoire had won the race by a grand total of THIRTEEN votes.
13!
Think about that for a moment. Of all the people in the state of Washington, there had to have been at least three retards like me that picked the wrong candidate on their ballot.
Yeah, you read that right… I voted for Christine Gregoire.
It honestly was NOT my best moment. I actually regret it now, and I am committed to ensuring that I know my candidates before casting my vote now. I even watch/listen to the debates.
Because of my stupid mistake, the wrong person (IMO) won the race for Washington state governor.
So, this returns me to my original point of this post.
Does your vote matter?
YES! Yes it does.
Every vote matters.
I know from personal experience.

If we could only get people to actually vote according to their own conscience instead of along party lines, or if we could get them to vote for who they actually want instead of who they think they have to pick from then I’m pretty sure things would shape up a little bit differently.
Now, I don’t consider myself to be any sort of political pundit, in fact I know very little when it comes to politics, but it doesn’t change the fact that I have an opinion.
And what you just read is exactly that…
My opinion!

Oh, and just because it actually matters…. BE SURE TO VOTE!

One comment on “Every Vote Matters

  1. solutions777 says:

    More people would vote if there was a category of “none of the above’. If all candidates are incompetents, why do voters have to elect any of them? If the majority of the votes went to “none of the above”, all candidates on the ballot would be removed and a new slate entered.

    Why should voters vote for an incompetent crook?

    Censorship is evil.

Leave a comment maybe? WORDS! Type Them! DO IT NOW!

