Two SIMPLE ways to grow.

as, dale carnegie, Download, Free, friends, influence, james allen, jell o, leadership, man, management, other, PDF, people, positive attitude, simple, steps, thinketh, win

Leadership is one of those things that can’t rally be handed to you in a few short steps.

It has to be grown. It has to be clutivated. You have to pay attention to what you are doing under a very broad set of guidelines in order to improve, and it isn’t something where the same method will work in all cases. It’s like trying to nail jello to a wall. You can’t really do it effectivly unless you have purchased a Jell-o brand Wall Nailer.

I’m kidding about the wall nailer, but I’m serious about the rest. Leadership, to those that aren’t involved regularly, is a very difficult thing to grasp. I am currently trying to grasp it myself. I have a basic understanding of what is asked of me, but being able to put actions in to practice has been proving difficult. The big spot where I have been failing is caused by me not knowing what actions I have to actually put in to practice.

As with so many other things in my life, the answer was handed to me by my father some years back.

Two books were handed to me as a child.

As a Man Thinketh by James Allen

&

How to Win Friends and Influence Other People by Dale Carnegie

(You can click the titles for their Wiki Links, also available for PDF download at the end of this post.)

These two books, for at least a little while after I read them (thanks to my ADD), change my life. They teach me how to deal with people. How to lead. How to be sincere. How to have the positive attitude required for success in a world that prefers to destroy people.

From self actualization as put out by James Allen, to the finer points of making anyone like you, winning ANY argument, and getting people to do what you want and making them think it’s their idea as coming from Dale Carnegie… These books are AMAZING!

I’ll be frank, they are a great toilet read. If you’re sitting in the bathroom, read a chapter. Sitting in the car, read a chapter. Sitting in church and the sermon is bland and you can’t pay attention, read As a man thinketh.  You don’t have to devote weeks on end to these great works of literary management. A minute here, two minutes there, and every time you read you WILL learn something.

I can’t stress it enough how good these two books are.

In fact, since I’m sure you would enjoy them, I’ve taken the liberty of linking to their online (and downloadable) PDF versions so that you can actually see and read what I’m talking about.

Not just exceprts, but the whole thing.

Read them. Print them if you want. Just take a look.

I promise you won’t be dissapointed.

Oh, and since I said I would provide them, here are the links to the full books.

AS A MAN THINKETH by James Allen [download]

HOW TO WIN FRIENDS AND INFLUENCE OTHER PEOPLE by Dale Carnegie [download]

